• a major German wine-producing region stretching from the border with Franken (Franconia) to Switzerland in the south. It is one of the 13 Anbaugebiete (quality wine-producing regions), with 8 Bereiche (districts) that have varying geographical conditions and grow mainly Müller-Thurgau, Pinot Gris and Riesling grape varieties for white wine, but also some Pinot Noir for red wine. Its warm climate produces wines with higher levels of alcohol but less acidity than other German regions.