General English

  • noun the countries of Belgium, the Netherlands and Luxembourg as a group


  • A word referring to a grouping of the three countries, Belgium, Netherlands, and Luxembourg. Claimed by The economist (May 3, 2008) to have been coined in August 1946 by its Belgian correspondent.
  • The economic union of the three Benelux countries, initially a customs union, later an economic union, and now part of the European Union.