Common Monetary Area



  • A monetary union made up of Swaziland, South Africa, and Lesotho, enacted in 1986. This union was superseded by the Multilateral Monetary Union, which was formed by the addition of Namibia joined the Common Monetary Area in 1992. Member nations work together to establish mutually favorable exchange rates and foreign exchange regulations.