county championship



  • noun the premier first-class competition in English cricket, in which 18 county sides (the 18th, Durham, joined the championship in 1992) compete for the title of county champion. The championship is based on a league system in which points are awarded to the winning team in any given match, while either side may also score bonus points for their batting and bowling performances in the first innings. Until fairly recently, the championship was based around three-day fixtures, but following experiments with a mix of three- and four-day games, the four-day match became the norm in 1993.