General English


  • noun a unit of currency adopted by several European countries for electronic payments in 1999 and then as legal tender from January 1st, 2002
  • prefix
    (written as Euro-)
    referring to Europe or the European Union


  • noun the currency adopted as legal tender in several European countries from 1 January 1999. The countries which are joined together in the European Monetary Union and adopted the euro as their common currency in 1999 are: Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal and Spain. The conversion of these currencies to the euro was fixed on 1 January 1999. Greece joined on 1 January 2001. The CFA franc and CFP franc were pegged to the euro at the same time.

Information & Library Science

  • noun
    (written as Euro)
    the official currency of 12 countries in the European Union


  • noun
    (written as Euro)
    the main currency unit of the European Union, used as local currency in most member States since 2002