Players' Club



  • A gentleman's club in New York, established in 1888 by theactor Edwin booth (see Booth family) as the US equivalentof London's Garrick Club. Booth, the first president, donateda house for its foundation. He died in office in 1893, as did thenext two presidents, Joseph Jefferson (see Jefferson family)and John Drew (see Drew family). The fourth presidentwas Walter Hampden, who served for 27 years (1918 - 55) and afterwhom the club library is named. Subsequent presidents have includedHoward Lindsay (1955 - 65), Alfred Drake (1970 - 78), and HerbBlodgett (2008 - ). In 1994 Lynn Redgrave became the first female president. The Players Club maintains an extensive collection of theatrical mementos.