Pulitzer Prizes



  • Awards for literary work (both fiction and nonfiction), drama,poetry, journalism, and music, that are awarded annually by New York'sColumbia University from funds left for the purpose by Joseph Pulitzer(1847 - 1911), a prominent and wealthy US newspaper proprietor.The Pulitzer Prize for Drama now stands at $3,000 and is given annuallyto the US writer of an outstanding play, preferably dealing with lifein America. It was first presented in 1918 to Jesse Lynch Williamsfor Why Marry? Eugene O'Neill won four prizes, thelast being awarded posthumously for Long Day's Journey Into Nightin 1957. Robert E. Sherwood and Edward Albee have each won three Pulitzers.Other playwrights honoured have included Tennessee Williams, ThorntonWilder, William Inge, Arthur Miller, Sam Shepard, David Mamet, August Wilson,Tony Kushner, Donald Margulies, and Tracy Letts.