religious food laws



  • Some religions have particular food prohibitions in particular; Buddhism, usually vegetarian; Hinduism, complex laws depending on caste, but generally no beef; Jainism, strict vegetarian with no eggs but dairy products allowed; Judaism, no horse or pig, seafood must have fins and scales, unfertilized eggs only, dairy products and meat must not be mixed and animals are examined for blemishes, slaughtered and prepared by licensed persons; Islam, no pork or alcohol, special slaughter of animal and no gold or silver plate; Sikh, Muslim or Jewish slaughter not allowed