Schengen Agreement



  • An agreement (later, convention) signed in 1985 to remove all frontier controls and permit free movement of persons between the participating countries. In 1999 it was incorporated into the European Union. As of 2007, there were 15 participants: all EU15 countries except Ireland and the U.K., plus Iceland and Norway.


  • noun an agreement between some countries in the European union and associated states, abolishing internal border controls over the movement of people and goods between member countries