The Wars of the Roses



  • The four Shakespeare plays set during the Wars of the Roses - the three parts of Henry VI and Richard III - adaptedfor performance as a cycle by John Barton. The Royal ShakespeareCompany has given two highly praised productions of the sequence. The first,in 1963 - 64, was directed by Peter Hall with Peggy Ashcroft asQueen Margaret, David Warner as Henry VI, Donald Sinden as York, and Ian Holmas Richard III. The second, in 1978, was directed by Terry Hands and starredAlan Howard as Henry VI. The same general title was given to the EnglishShakespeare Company's staging of the complete sequence of Shakespeare'shistory plays (Richard II to Richard III) in 1987.