Western European Union



  • noun a group of European countries linked together for mutual protection; the Union is now seen as the European Union’s future defence arm, and it now includes several eastern European countries as associate members.


  • noun a union formed in 1954 with the aim of harmonising defence and security in the region, now including Belgium, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain and the United kingdom as full members, and Bulgaria, the Czech republic, Denmark, Estonia, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Romania, the Slovak Republic and Turkey as associate members.